The Woman Who Thought too Much A Memoir For readers of A Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and Bad Blood by Lorna Sage comes an intensely honest and surprisingly witty literary memoir of one woman s life as a sufferer of Obsessive com

  • Title: The Woman Who Thought too Much: A Memoir
  • Author: Joanne Limburg
  • ISBN: 9781848871748
  • Page: 392
  • Format: Paperback
  • For readers of A Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and Bad Blood by Lorna Sage comes an intensely honest and surprisingly witty literary memoir of one woman s life as a sufferer of Obsessive compulsive disorder Joanne Limburg is a woman who thinks things she doesn t want to think, and who does things she doesn t want to do As a small child, she would chew her hair aFor readers of A Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and Bad Blood by Lorna Sage comes an intensely honest and surprisingly witty literary memoir of one woman s life as a sufferer of Obsessive compulsive disorder Joanne Limburg is a woman who thinks things she doesn t want to think, and who does things she doesn t want to do As a small child, she would chew her hair all day and lie awake at night wondering if heaven had a ceiling a few years later, when she should have been doing her homework, she was pacing her bedroom, agonizing about the unfairness of life as a woman, and the shortness of her legs By the time she was an adult, obsessive thoughts and compulsive behaviors had come to dominate her life She knew that something was wrong with her, but it would take many years before she understood what that something was This memoir follows Limburg s quest to understand her OCD and to manage her symptoms, taking the reader on a journey through consulting rooms, libraries, and websites as she learns about rumination, scrupulosity, avoidance, thought action fusion, fixed action patterns, anal fixations, schemas, basal ganglia, tics, and synapses Meanwhile, she does her best to come to terms with an illness which turns out to be common and even sometimes treatable This vividly honest memoir is a sometimes shocking, often humorous revelation of what it is like to live with so debilitating a condition It is also an exploration of the inner world of a poet and an intense evocation of the persistence and courage of the human spirit in the face of mental illness.

    • Best Read [Joanne Limburg] ✓ The Woman Who Thought too Much: A Memoir || [Biography Book] PDF ↠
      392 Joanne Limburg
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Joanne Limburg] ✓ The Woman Who Thought too Much: A Memoir || [Biography Book] PDF ↠
      Posted by:Joanne Limburg
      Published :2018-03-02T01:47:41+00:00

    One thought on “The Woman Who Thought too Much: A Memoir”

    1. As someone with personal experience of OCD, I get extremely cross about the way it is misrepresented. OCD isn’t about being tidy and organised. OCD sufferers have intrusive thoughts and obsessions and often feel compelled to carry out an action, such as reciting something or touching something, in order to make those thoughts go away. For Limburg, OCD manifests itself in obsessive thoughts about the danger inherent in everything. She sees danger in normal everyday things and obsesses over it, [...]

    2. Have you ever had a thought which kept going round and round in your head? Even if you know the thought or the idea is stupid you still can’t get rid of it. There is no way you can reason with this idea and banish it so that you can get on with your life. All of us must at some time had the occasional idea or thought which won’t be banished. But the author has lived with obsessional thoughts for the whole of her life and she has had professional help of various kinds over the years to try an [...]

    3. ‘I obsessed about all kinds of things’Joanne Limburg was a fearless child, a champion tree climber at the age of seven, who became an adolescent fearful of walking down stairs. Somehow, by the time she went to Cambridge to study, Ms Limburg was governed by obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). What happened to Ms Limburg? And, importantly, how did she learn to live with OCD in order to have become an accomplished (and published) poet, wife and mother?'I don’t want to die, but I feared for m [...]

    4. Joanne Limburg writes her memoir about her years living with OCD, being a teenager when it started, trying to get her phd, or a steady job, finding someone who would marry her and raising her son.I really loved this book! I loved her research, her unredemptive ending and her honesty about how the disease affected her. it is not a self-help book. Some OCD sufferers may be worse off, some may be better, others may not have been diagnosed but may find that now they have a reason to seek help. Or no [...]

    5. The author was very forthright in her journey with OCD. I appreciated her honesty and tenacity. What could have been a crippling situation for her instead gave her the increasing will to conquer and overcome her obstacles. The author is brave to share her story in an intimate and uncensored manner.

    6. I do not understand the school system in England, and the author has not given me much of a glimpse into why she has the thoughts or actions that she does. The author just seems like a depressed, anxious teenager. I am not engaged and don't plan to finish reading this book.

    7. An honest and interesting read, although bordering on reading like a text book at times. Given the author's drive for perfectionism, all the way through I was wondering how she managed to get the book written let alone critiqued and published.

    8. Very interesting yet lost the autobiographical nature towards the end which I had found so emotive and personal. Such books are incredibly important in abolishing mental illness stereotypes and I can imagine this story being difficult to write.

    9. I feel like I should be enjoying this more than I am - perhaps it's the wrong time for me to be reading it. May set it aside

    10. I found this difficult to read because I know somebody who suffers from severe OCD. It was however vey helpful,I would recommend it to OCD sufferers and their family/friends/carers etc.

    11. I was left feeling like i was sneaking on someone's private matters but also admired her for her patience.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *